After completing the reconstruction of the Rietavas Manor homestead and the central part of the city in 1852, Prince Ireneusz Ogiński took the responsibility for organising the construction of a new church. The impressive Neo-Romanesque sanctuary was designed by Friedrich August Stüler, the architect of the Prussian Royal Manor. Construction lasted more than 20 years. Due to its architectural expressiveness, Rietavas Church became an architectural gem of the entire Samogitia region. Rietavas also boasts an unprecedented event in Lithuania: the historic chandelier comprising 100 light bulbs shone with electric light on the Easter morning, 17 April 1892. It is very likely, that during these celebrations M. K. Čiurlionis played in Rietavas and Plungė joint orchestra. Undoubtedly, he also saw the construction of the church getting to a close. He also heard the famous organ built by Karl Jemlich’s company (Dresden). The organ was destroyed during the bombing at the outbreak of World War II.